Is Campbell’s Tomato Soup Vegan?

Is Campbell's Tomato Soup Vegan?

To answer the question: is Campbell’s tomato soup vegan? Let us understand what a vegan diet is. Vegan diets are void of any animal products. This implied a vegan diet is usually plant-based. Vegan diets contain vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, and by-products from plants. 

Quick answer: Yes, Campbell Tomato soup is vegan. It contains mostly plant-based ingredients. They include wheat flour, corn syrup, preservatives, seasonings, tomato puree, also milk, and soy.

The Truth About Campbell Tomato Soup

The truth is Campbell’s Tomato soup was not primarily created for a vegan diet but it is vegan-friendly. It can be included in vegan diets any day, anytime.

It can be served hot or cold. It is a nice idea for a chilly day lunch or a good beginning at a dinner party. If you want to make tomato soup yourself and you are curious as to whether the recipe is easy or not, worry not. You are covered.

Tomato soup is popular around the world. The good thing is the ingredients are available in your kitchen or readily available at groceries stores around you. 

These are the things you need:

  1. Free tomatoes
  2. Olive oil
  3. Spices
  4. Herbs
  5. Seasonings
  6. Other Ingredients you want e.g., meat, fish, etc.

Step-by-step guide:

Roast the fresh tomatoes, you can use a grilled or an oven. Some individuals make the roasted tomatoes into a smooth paste by blending. Depending on what you like you can leave it in its chunky form and boil it.

It is usually better when pureed. You could make it into a puree by straining or blending. Make the roasted tomatoes puree into a creamy juice; while cooking, add your desired seasonings, spices, herbs, and olive oil.

You can put slices of fresh tomatoes and vegetables if you want. Serve with a grilled sandwich and chicken. Savor the taste.

In the process of blending if you have decided to blend, ensure to not overload the blender. You could also take out the center cap from the blender lid to allow for the escape of steam. Steam build-up might cause a total mess by spillage and accident as well. Cover the center part with a towel or foil. 

Campbell’s Tomato Soup Ingredients

Campbell’s Tomato Soup is an interesting mouthwatering delicacy, especially when combined with an amazing side dish. Boom! Good taste! This flavorful taste is from the combination of a host of ingredients.

This makes it a step higher than regular canned tomato soup. The ingredients include:

  1. Tomato Puree: This consist of water and fresh tomatoes prepared into a puree. This is the main ingredient. 
  2. Wheat Flour: This serves as a thickening agent.
  3. Water: This helps to bind ingredients together.
  4. High Fructose Corn Syrup: This serves as a sweetening agent.

Others include Garlic or garlic oil, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Citric Acid, MSG, Flavoring (natural), Ascorbic Acid, Monopotassium Phosphate, and Celery Extract. These are in a minimal amount 

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Campbell Tomato Soup Different from Condensed Tomato soup?

Campbell Tomato soup is taken a notch higher than many regular canned tomato soups. The latter usually contains a combination of water and tomato paste. Some canned tomato soup adds a few more ingredients. The difference will be the amount of water present. Condensed Tomato soup is processed to remove most of its water.

Is Water Necessary While Cooking Campbell’s Tomato soup? 

Campbell’s Tomato soup comes with a good amount of water in it. If you must add water, add a cup of water to a can of Campbell’s Tomato soup. Simmer well.

How Different Is a Soup from A Bisque?

Tomato soup can be made with water, chicken stock, or vegetables. It is usually more liquid. On the other hand, bisque is made with a lot more milk and less to no water. This gives it a creamier taste and of course thicker than tomato soup.

Final Thoughts

Campbell Tomato Soup is a must-have in homes. It solves the problem of cooking for a long duration.

It is a good quick fix for Sunday lunch for the family or yourself. It can work well when you are famished and also want a flavorful meal. 

Was this article helpful?
Leave a Reply
Previous Article
Is Shin Noodles Gluten-Free?

Is Shin Noodles Gluten-Free?

Next Article
Can You Put Toothpicks In The Oven?

Can You Put Toothpicks In The Oven?

Related Posts